The Voice of Democracy Program is open to students in grades 9-12 (on the October 31 deadline), who are enrolled in a public, private or parochial high school or home study program in the United States and its territories.


    Students who are already enrolled in Honors English 10 will automatically be entered in the contest since this is one of the course's required assignments.  If anyone outside of the course is interested, see Mr. Clements or Mrs. Osteen by September 15 to obtain an entry form and to schedule a day and time to record your speech.


    The theme for 2019-2020 is:   What Makes America Great


    Students should record their reading of the draft to a CD. The recording can be no shorter than 3 minutes and no longer than 5 minutes (plus or minus 5 seconds).


    A judging committee consisting of teachers (other than Mr. Clements) will listen to all of the contest entries and judge them using the criteria listed below.  The top three entries will be awarded cash prizes that are given to the student in May at Awards Night.  The first place entry moves on to the next level of competition at the Post level.



    Originality is worth 30 points: Treatment of the theme should show imagination and human interest
    Content is worth 35 points: Clearly express your ideas in an organized manner. Fully develop your theme and use transitions to move smoothly from one idea to the other.

    Delivery is worth 35 points: Speak in a clear and credible manner.


    Congratulations to the following winners for 2016-2017

    1st place:  Ryan Montagna
    2nd place:  Liane Lech
    3rd place:  Ashley Hughes 

    Congratulations to the following winners for 2015-2016

    1st place:  Caleb Wenger
    2nd place:  Doyle Shertzer
    3rd place:  Alyssa Felty 

    Congratulations to the following winners for 2014-15

    1st place:  Megan Deaven
    2nd place:  Alyssa Blackman
    3rd place:  Spencer Grogan
    Congratulations to the following winners for 2013-14
    1st place:  Sam Soliday
    2nd place:  Kevin Hostetter
    3rd place:  Nate Morgan